American five-piece The National have just unveiled a darkly uneasy new track The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness from their upcoming seventh album, Sleep Well Beast, the band’s first since their 2013 release, Trouble Will Find Me.

The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness melds elements of the National’s signature anthemic indie-rock with a slice of disco-funk. A shuffling drum beat and a dirty guitar loop fuse with a slow-burning blend of piano, synths and horns that rise at the end with Matt Berninger’s stirring entreaty, “I can’t explain it/ Any other, any other way”.

The album was mainly recorded at the Long Pond NY studio of guitarist Aaron Dessner, with additional sessions having taken place in Paris, Berlin and LA. Dessner produced Sleep Well Beast with his brother, guitarist Bryce Dessner and frontman Matt Berninger.

Sleep Well Beast will be released via 4AD on 8th September but is available to pre-order digitally, as well as on CD and double LP (see below for full tracklist).

The National play Glastonbury 21st June, Cork Opera House Sat 16th and Dublin’s Vicar Street on Sunday 17th/Monday 18th September, followed by more UK dates. Full details of their upcoming tour here.

Sleep Well Beast Track List

1. “Nobody Else Will Be There”
2. “Day I Die”
3. “Walk It Back”
4. “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness”
5. “Born to Beg”
6. “Turtleneck”
7. “Empire Line”
8. “I’ll Still Destroy You”
9. “Guilty Party”
10. “Carin at the Liquor Store”
11. “Dark Side of the Gym”
12. “Sleep Well Beast”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s