The RTÉ Choice Music Prize is back!

The shortlist for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2018 has been released, and it’s a veritable who’s who from the current Irish contemporary music scene!

The shortlist, which was compiled by a judging panel headed up by renowned Irish journalist Tony Clayton-Lea, was announced on RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford Show on Wednesday 9th January, 2019. Tony is lined up to be a guest on Dave Fanning’s radio show on Saturday 12th. Tune in to 2FM between 9.00am and 11.00am to listen to chats about the album shortlist.

The #rtechoiceprize shortlist reads as follows:

The AcademicTales From The Backseat (ROOM6 Records)

DelorentosTrue Surrender (Delo Records)

Just MustardWednesday (Pizza Pizza Records)

KojaqueDeli Daydreams (Soft Boy Records)

O EmperorJason (Big Skin Records)

Lisa O’NeillHeard A Long Gone Song (River Lea Recordings)

Saint SisterShape Of Silence (self released)

Rejjie SnowDear Annie (BMG)

VillagersThe Art Of Pretending To Swim (Domino Recording Co)

Wyvern LingoWyvern Lingo (Ruby Works)

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize album of the year will be awarded during the annual live event, on Thursday 7th March, which once again returns to Vicar St.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are on sale now from all Ticketmaster outlets and from priced €28.00 including booking fee.

The shortlisted albums can be enjoyed in full on the RTÉ Choice Music Prize website and on

Here’s a sample playlist to whet your appetite.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s