Mark Hollis1 Mark Hollis2 Talk Talk

Those of you who know me, are aware that I have recently started a large, retrospective project on the works of UK 80’s band Talk Talk (sadly long since disbanded), and their former lead singer, Mark Hollis.

For anyone who has never listened to their music, I would heartily recommend you do so, but THAT is for another blog.

Far removed from the synth pumping “Today” and “Talk Talk” tracks from the first 1982 album, “The Party’s Over” lies the powerfully evocative “Tomorrow Started”, from their 1984 album “It’s my Life”.

As I sat listening to this song, a surge of emotion swept over me.  Maybe it’s the week I’m having, or the way that I’m feeling: or, maybe it’s just the way the music resonates with me, speaks to me.  Every element of this song is a musical tear, and, the whole, is a seven minute long lament.

I could say a lot, but I’m not going to.  I’m just going to give you the lyrics and a video from their 1986 tour.   I’ll let the song do the rest.

Performed live in 1986 at the Montreux Jazz Festival, this is a perfect piece of musical melancholia.

“Tomorrow Started”

Don’t look back until you try
A line so openly alive
Outside of you
It’s just tomorrow starting

I’ve said I’m wrong when I’ve been right
I’ve seen times when I’ve been sure
But still I find, I’m just the first that you take
Are there reasons everybody pays?

They never seem to be any use
They never seem to be any use
It’s just tomorrow starting

Don’t look back until you’ve tried
With time you’ll endlessly arrive
Outside of use
With just tomorrow starting

See my eyes
Tell me I’m not lying
I’m just the first that you take
Are there reasons everybody pays?

They never seem to be any use
They never seem to be any use
It’s just tomorrow starting

See my eyes
Tell me I’m not lying
I’m just the first that you take
Are there reasons everybody pays?

They never seem to be any use
They never seem to be any use
They never seem to be any use
It’s just tomorrow starting

Songwriters
HOLLIS, MARK DAVID

Published by
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

4 thoughts on ““Tomorrow Started” but sadly Yesterday has Ended

Leave a comment